Eye Castle is one of the few surviving motte-and-bailey castles from the early Norman period. Built shortly after the Norman conquest of England in 1066, the castle was sacked and largely destroyed in 1265 but was probably used as a defensive site for many centuries before that. Now, rather than dominating the surrounding area with military might, the castle offers a tranquil, fun and interesting place to visit.
The castle site has recently been restored and revamped, opening up new areas to explore and providing a viewing platform offering wonderful views of the church, Eye and surrounding countryside for miles around.
The castle is open daily from Easter until the end of October. During the winter months it is open on weekends only, subject to weather conditions. There is no entry fee. Accessible through a gate in Castle Hill, off Castle Street.
Opening Hours are 9am until 7pm or dusk (whichever is earlier). There is a list of keyholders by the gate, should one be needed (pictures of the signs below).
Parking is available in the town centre and toilets are available near the cross street car park.