Eye is a jewel of a town in North Suffolk with a wealth of interesting places to visit and friendly places to shop and eat. Dominated by its outstanding Victorian flint and brick Town Hall commissioned in 1857 by E B Lamb, the town of Eye was until the 1970s the smallest borough in the country. The Town is built around Eye Castle which possibly dates back to the eleventh century and is well worth a visit. You can take a leisurely walk around the town trail and visit some of the wonderful historic buildings. Recent spurts in population may see a step change in the town’s future development.
The magnificent fifteenth century Church of St Peter and St Paul is featured in the Churches and Chapels section of “Days Out in Suffolk” available from Mid Suffolk Tourist Information Centre.
Just beside the Church is the Guild Hall which again dates back to the 1400’s. The Guild’s activities could still be said to be alive represented by enthusiastic members of Eye Arts Guild.
The town is twinned with Pouzauges in France and this promotes links to continental tourism. There is no official Tourist Office in Eye, the Bank 2 Castle Street keeps an array of leaflets which are available to tourists including “Eye Suffolk, A Tourist Guide”, “Heart of Suffolk Treasures”, “Eye Cycle Route” and the “Eye Town Trail” New Book printed September 2022.
A great way of finding out more and exploring Eye is to visit Explore Waveney Valley’s website, which offers guided audio tours of Eye in mp3 format. Featuring Clive Paine and a number of Eye residents, this is well worth a look/listen.